The best website for SARGAM notations of songs and tunes.  | Over 400 Songs/Tunes | Weekly addition of new notations |

Total Website Visits: 12272

Wo shaam kuchh ajeeb thi

Sargam notes for song Woh Shaam Kuch Ajeeb Thi
Singer : Kishore Kumar,
Lyrics : Gulzar,
Music : Hemant Kumar,
Movie : Khamoshi (1969)

Sargam notes for this particular song was requested by so many of you and for so long. But frankly, I was unable to put the blocks in places for about 2 years! Yes, it has taken me that long to try and fail, try and fail, and then finally produce sargam for this lovely song. Interlude and music pieces seemed so difficult to produce with the song. But somehow, I figured out to mix all three octaves to play this song on Bansuri. This song is based on Raag Yaman, if I’m not wrong and it features in the personal list of favourite songs of Kishore Kumar himself.

I have produced Sargam for this song by playing on A scale flute starting Sa at high octave (Taar saptak) with Kann Swar of Pa.

Total Page Visits: 19 - Today Page Visits: 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Useful Resources
How to read SARGAM notations

  • CAPITAL LETTERS = Shuddh Swars (Flat Notes)
  • small letters = Komal Swars (Low Notes)
  • A Note with # [hash] = Tivra Swar (High Note)
  • Letter/Alphabet ONLY = Medium Pitch/Normal blow on flute
  • Letter/Alphabet PRECEDED BY a ” . ” [full stop] or  a ” , ” [comma] = Low Pitch/Softer blow on flute
  • Letter/Alphabet FOLLOWED BY a ‘ [single quote] = High Pitch/harder blow on flute
  • Notes in { } = “murki” have to be played very fast without any pause
  • A Note in ( ) = “kaan swar” has to be just touched before moving on to the next note
  • A “~” between two Notes = “meend”. That is, you have to glide from one note to another slowly to produce that wavy effect.